JOE BONAMASSA announces new album “Blues Of Desperation”

Joe Bonamassa - Blues Of Desperation

GRAMMY-nominated blues-rock guitar icon Joe Bonamassa announces today his brand-new studio solo album, Blues Of Desperation (Provogue), will be released March 25, 2016. Like his previous solo disc, 2014’s Top 10 Billboard hit Different Shades of Blue, the new album features all-original material, and it sees the maverick superstar guitarist, singer and songwriter tossing away the rule book as he continues to reinvent and redefine the blues-rock genre like no other artist working today.

I want people to hear my evolution as a blues-rock musician,” says Bonamassa, “somebody who isn’t resting on accomplishments and who is always pushing forward and thinking about how music can evolve and stay relevant.”


The writing sessions for Blues Of Desperation took Bonamassa back to Nashville, where he’d composed Different Shades of Blue, to work with some of Music City’s top tunesmiths, people like James House, Tom Hambridge, Jeffrey Steele, Jerry Flowers and Gary Nicholson. “These are some of the best guys in the business,” Bonamassa raves. “Lyrically, you’ll hear the proverbial trains, mountains, valleys and other blues references about heartbreak and loneliness, but there are also some poignant moments about getting away from the stressful, crazy demands of life and losing yourself with your special someone. I think anybody will be able to relate.”

Joe Bonamassa - Blues Of Desperation
Photo: Rick Gould

Bonamassa and his long-time producer Kevin Shirley (Led Zeppelin, Iron Maiden, Journey) convened at Nashville’s Grand Victor Sound Studios (formerly known as RCA Studio A), and during an intense, five-day period they recorded 11 galvanizing songs with a crack group of musicians including drummers Anton Fig and Greg Morrow, bassist Michael Rhodes, keyboardist Reese Wynans, horn players Lee Thornburg, Paulie Cerra and Mark Douthit, and background singers Mahalia Barnes, Jade McRae and Juanita Tippins.

Joe Bonamassa “Blues Desperation” Album Track Listing:

  1. This Train
  2. Mountain Climbing
  3. Drive
  4. No Good Place For The Lonely
  5. Blues Of Desperation
  6. The Valley Runs Low
  7. You Left Me Nothin’ But The Bill And The Blues
  8. Distant Lonesome Train
  9. How Deep This River Runs
  10. Livin’ Easy
  11. What I’ve Known For A Very Long Time

2016 UK Tour dates:

Ticket Prices: £45, £60, £75
Book Tickets Online:
Box Office: 0844 338 0338 / Doors: 7pm
King Edwards Road, Birmingham, West Midlands, B1 2AA

SUNDAY 20th MARCH 2016
Ticket Prices: £35, £45, £65, £75
Book Tickets Online:
Box Office: 0844 576 3000 / Doors: 7:30pm
Exeter Road, Bournemouth, Dorset, BH2 5BH

MONDAY 21st MARCH 2016
Ticket Prices: £35, £45, £60, £75
Book Tickets Online:
Box Office: 0845 146 1460 / Doors: 6:30pm
Millbay Road, Plymouth, Devon, PL1 3LF