Mixing old school blues and folk with new school hip-hop and funk, G. Love’s electrifying new album, Philadelphia Mississippi, brings together both sides of the genre-bending pioneer’s eclectic career in a wildly innovative and deeply reverent sonic pilgrimage to the heart of the South.

“I wanted to capture the essence of collaboration, the energy of inspiration.” -G.Love


Get your copy today from the link below.


G. Love celebrates “the sound of the North and the South, the old and the new, the past and the future all coming together at once” with his newest studio album, Philadelphia Mississippi via Philadelphonic Records/Thirty Tigers. The 13-track collection features Chuck Treece, Schoolly D, Trenton Ayers, Speech, Alvin Youngblood Hart,  R.L. Boyce, Freddie Foxx, Jontavious Willis, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Tikyra Jackson, Cam Kimbrough, Luther Dickinson, and Sharde Thomas, as well as four original songs without features.

G. Love first broke out in the early ’90s with his band, Special Sauce, on their strength of their Gold-selling self-titled debut. Over the next three decades, he would go on to release seven more critically acclaimed albums with Special Sauce (plus five on his own), become a fixture on festival lineups from Bonnaroo to Lollapalooza, and collaborate on the road and in the studio with artists as diverse as Lucinda Williams, Dave Matthews, The Avett Brothers, Jack Johnson, Keb’ Mo’, and DJ Logic. 

It would have been easy for G. Love to play it safe coming off his GRAMMY-nominated 2020 release, The Juice, but Philadelphia Mississippi is perhaps his most adventurous, ambitious collection to date, tossing all the rules out the window as it experiments with form and function in an ecstatic celebration of music’s power to connect across genres and generations.