BM Web Exclusive: New Gov’t Mule album – preview tracks

We are thrilled to be able to offer a UK exclusive – hear new tracks from Gov’t Mule’s new album “Shout” here first!

Go to the bottom of this page to stream these new tracks!


Gov’t Mule – New Album, with a twist, in September 2013

Govt Mule SHOUT Cd artworkThe new album ‘Shout!’ from Gov’t Mule, the band’s first in four years, is released through the Mascot Label Group / Provogue on 23 September 2013 [Cat. No. PRD70462].  In an unprecedented twist, as a gift to their fans, a special bonus CD will also be included, which includes the 11 tracks from the album but in different versions with each sung by a different world class special guest and friend of the band, with Myles Kennedy, Elvis Costello, Steve Winwood, Dr. John, Glenn Hughes and many more all contributing [see below]!


“This album puts the spotlight on the new songs and the way that we interpret them, which hinges on the unique chemistry we’ve developed as a band,” says Haynes.  “No one’s done this before, which is exciting,” says Haynes, “but it’s even more exciting actually listening to these artists sing our songs. Their performances bring new ideas, energy and sometimes even different meanings to every number.”  The 11 original songs on Shout! were written over the past two years. The band members first convened at Carlsson’s Los Angeles studio, where they wrote, recorded and produced lead track “World Boss” and two other songs. Inspired, they agreed to meet up on the East Coast to continue work on the album. They recorded eight tracks at Carriage House Studios in Stamford, CT, with longtime co-producer/engineer Gordie Johnson co-producing four of the songs with Haynes.

govt mule“The Mule holds a unique and lofty berth. They have roots that run real deep — drawing from the entire history of rock ‘n’ roll going all the way back to Robert Johnson and the Delta,” noted [US label] Blue Note Records’ President Don Was. “Yet, despite their mastery of past idioms, they have managed to rearrange those elements into a whole new thing. On this new album, they’ve elevated their songwriting, playing, and production values to a whole new plateau. It’s gonna blow people’s minds.”


1. World Boss / 2. No Reward / 3. Whisper In Your Soul / 4. Captured / 5. Scared To Live / 6. Stoop So Low / 7. Forsaken Savior / 8. Done Got Wise 9. When The World Gets Small / 10. Funny Little Tragedy / 11. Bring On The Music

Disc 2

1. World Boss with Ben Harper / 2. No Reward with Glenn Hughes / 3. Whisper In Your Soul with Grace Potter / 4. Captured with Jim James / 5. Scared To Live with Toots Hibbert / 6. (How Could You) Stoop So Low with Dr. John / 7. Forsaken Savior with Dave Matthews / 8. Done Got Wise with Myles Kennedy / 9. When The World Gets Small with Steve Winwood / 10. Funny Little Tragedy with Elvis Costello / 11. Bring On The Music with Ty Taylor

Gov’t Mule – co-founded by Haynes with drummer Matt Abts and featuring keyboardist Danny Louis and bassist Jorgen Carlsson – has released nine critically acclaimed studio albums and an assortment of DVDs and live albums. The band has sold more than three million song downloads through their site MuleTracks and is the consummate live act.  ‘Shout!’ is just the latest, innovative chapter in the Gov’t Mule story.

For more info please contact Chris Hewlett on 0845 601 2833 or [email protected]

Blues Matters exclusive previews: